These crossbenchers could have a huge impact on Australia’s climate policy

08.07.16 By
This article is more than 8 years old

Election day is over, but the result is still up in the air.

On the most recent count, neither major party has secured enough seats to command a majority in the Lower House (House of Representatives) which is required to form Government.

What does this mean for climate change, and climate policy?

If we end up with a hung Parliament, then the balance of power could rest in the hands of a few crossbenchers – politicians who are independent of both of the major parties. Winning their support will be crucial to forming government and passing legislation.

So just who are the crossbench politicians, and where do they stand on climate change?

Here’s what we know so far…


Rebekha Sharkie (Nick Xenophon Team): Mayo, SA

Read more here.

Cathy McGowan (Independent): Indi, VIC

Read more here.

Bob Katter (The Katter’s Australian Party): Kennedy, QLD


Read more here.

Andrew Wilkie (Independent): Denison, TAS


Read more here.

Adam Bandt (Greens): Melbourne, VIC


Read more here.


The Senate has a broad role including introducing legislation and reviewing legislation passed in the Lower House. Vote counting for the Senate takes longer, so we won’t know the final outcome for a while yet.

However, results so far* suggest the Government will need to work with a significant crossbench, including:

The Greens (3-6 Senators*)

Read more here.

Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party (1 Senator*)

Nick Xenaphon Team (2-3 Senators*)

Read more here.

Pauline Hanson’s One Nation (1 Senator*)

Read more here.

Jacqui Lambie Network (1 Senator*)

Read more here.

Stay tuned for more on the Senate crossbench.

And in the meantime?

Regardless of how the votes unfold over the next few days and weeks, one thing is certain: the next government of Australia will play a key role in either helping or hindering action on climate change.

*At the time of writing the legends at the AEC still have a lot of counting ahead. These numbers are based on preliminary data from the ABC and are subject to change.

Images via candidates’ websites or Twitter profiles.